The tomb of sage Abul Qasim Firdowsi, the well-known Iranian poet and the creator of everlasting epic poem Shahnameh (Book of Kings) is situated in a distance of 24 kilometers from Mashhad.
The erection of present building was completed in 1934 A.D. It was inaugurated at the time of the celebration of Ferdowsi’s millennium.
In the northeast of Mashhad and near Ferdowsi’s mausoleum and in a broad weald there is a square mausoleum with a dome.
It is ascribed to the eight century AH. The dome is a two-layer and brick one. There are several rooms above the main wall which are similar to the mausoleum of Sultan Sanjar and Oljayto.
Harounieh Construction is the most intact historical monument in historical city of Tabaran of Toos It is located at western edge of Pardis Blvd. and 800 ms far from Ferdowsi Mausoleum Gar (Based on historical documents this tomb dated to the early of 8th century LH (Ilkhanian Period The huge entrance veranda has had Mogharnas decorations that is destructed today and just remained a little part. There is a space at north of this construction attached to dome-house so that some evidences about these attachments is preserved after restoration.
This building is including Ilkhanian constructions that have been under preservation, restoration and reconstruction for many years. Dome-house having double ceiling that the outer ceiling is restored based on existed documents. Its usage is not clear but it is mentioned at diaries, Toos’ Mosque, Tomb, and Qazzali & Ferdowsi’s School-Mosque. Whatever is clear is that architecture, decorations and constructing period of this building is not related to Haroon Al rashid-the king of Abbasi-and merely attributed to this usage because of people’s interest to Imam Reza and oral narration of natives.
Historical complex of Zein-ol-din Abubakre Taybadi’s Grave
Registration No. of National vestiges: 309
Antiquity: 9th century AH
Present Application: Mausoleum Mol Ian a Zein-ol-Din (died En 791 AH) famous Sufi and is including Sufism Sheiks in 8th century AH
This complex that emphasizes on attention to his personality including domed-house and a porch attaching two double stories chambers at two sides and in front of it located Hazireh (uncovered tomb) of Sheik Zein-ol-din the construction, of the porch Is furnished by “Peer Ahmad Khafi” -the minister of Shahrokh of Timurid period-in 848. LH
Among other spaces of this complex are reservoir’s complex and construction attributed to “Sheik Ali” -the father of Zein-ol-din Abubakr.
Mil-e Khosrugerd (the tower of Khosrugerd)
This tower is a brick minaret of 33 meters high. It is decorated with cut bricks in various shapes and forms. This building, which is one of the important buildings of Khorasan and Sabzevar architecture, belongs to Seljuk era. As mentioned in available inscriptions, it had been erected in 505 A.H. Khosrugerd has once been an inhabited city in Beyhagh region Six kilometer away from Sabzevar. This city had had a big Friday mosque in the fifth and sixth century A.H and some believe that this tower is a remaining minaret of that mosque which has once been a guide for caravans and travelers.
The last resting place of Nader Shah Afshar is located in the center of Mashhad and near to the holly shrine of Imam Reza (AS). The building of the mausoleum is made of granite and other stones. The base of the statue of Nader on the horse is adjacent to the building of the mausoleum. And this statue of Nader, 6.5 meters high, along with three infantries made of gun metal are placed on this base. The designer of this statue was Abol Hassan Khan Saddigi, the famous Iranian artist.
Imamzadeh Mahruq – Nishabur
This monument is the tomb of Muammad ibn Mohammad ibn Zeyd ibn Ali ibn Al-Hossein (A.S) which is situated in a beautiful garden in the precinct of Khayyam’s tomb in Nishabur. This mausoleum has a tiled dome and high porticos. The grave of the Imamzade Muhammad Mahruq is located under the dome. The tile inscription of the portico, the fretwork box and the entrance gate of the mausoleum are from the Shah Tahmaseb I era-the tenth century AH. This building, which had originally been a dome, is said to belong to Seljuk era.
It has been completely repaired in Shah Tahmasb Safavi times and in Shah Sultan Hossein Safavi era-1119 AH. The tomb of Imamzadeh Ibrahim, one of the sons of Imam Mosa ibn Ja’far (A.S) is also located in this building.
The Mausoleum of Attar and Kamal-Ol Molk
The building of Sheykh Farid Al-Din Attar Nishaburi, the famous Gnostic and poet of sixth and early seven century A.H, is located in Nishbur suburb and three kilometers far from the Khayyam’s mausoleum. In the yard of Attar’s mausoleum there is the last resting place of Mohammad Qaffari (Kamal-ol Molk) the genius painter of Naseri era.
The mausoleum of Khayyam Nishaburi
The mausoleum of sage Omar Khayyam Nishaburi, the Iranian philosopher, mathematician, astronomer, and poet, is in Nishabur close to the Imamzadeh Muhammad Mahroq mausoleum.
This memorial, which is in the style of Seljuk towers (the time of Khayyam), has a iron structure covered with stones and decorated with tile-works and calligraphies of Khayyam’s four-line stanzas.
Architecturally speaking, the Khayyam’s mausoleum is a unique building. It is 22 meters high and has been erected in 1962 AD by the national remain community.
Khayyam’s tomb historical-cultural collection
The garden areas: 21500 Square meter
Construction area: 1000 Square meter
New development beginning: 1959
Exploitation date: 1962
Historical antecedent: 6th Century.AH
Registration number in national works index: 1175
The Radkan Tower was built in the middle of the seventh century (12th.cent.622A.D) in the Ilkhani Era, 3km east of the Radkan Village (one of the four city’s of Toos). This tower has an interior plan of eight sides, a height of 27m, a 12 sided base with a height of 3m and after that 36 half pillars stand out on the outer body of the building. This cylinder branch is covered by a cone shaped dome, in the place where the dome and cylinder base connects, there is a plaster inscription and under the inscription, glazed bricks in the shape of tears shine out like jewels on the body of the tower. Today only some of them remain. The material of this tower is substantially from brick which have been carried out in horizontal geometrical designs in scales and amounts of old Iranian architecture and cast a special beauty to the site.
The Khorshid (sun) Palace-Daregaz
The building of kakhe khorshid edifice which is located in a big garden belongs to the Nader Shah Afshar times. It is a octagonal building erected on a four-layer stone base which are in a pyramidical shape. This palace has 12 rooms which are decorated with stucco-works and paintings.
The way that the building is decorated is quite exquisite and varied. There is a round tower in the center of the roof of the building with semi-circular-like parts. This part of the building, which is nearly half of the building, seems as if it is made of a single stone. Kakhe Khorshid was built in the twelve centry-1150-AH by Nader Shah Afshar.